Friday, October 11, 2013

Cosmic Nature of Logos

"Our old writers said that Vach is of four kinds . . . para, pasyanti, madhyama, vaikhari (a statement found in the Rig-Veda and the Upanishads) . . . Vaikhari-Vach is what we utter." It is sound, speech, that again which becomes comprehensive and objective to one of our physical senses and may he brought under the laws of perception. Hence: "Every kind of Vaikhari-Vach exists in its Madhyama . . . Pasyanti and ultimately in its Para form . . .  The reason why this Pranava is called Vach is this, that these four principles of the great Kosmos correspond to these four forms of Vach . . .  The whole Kosmos in its objective form is Vaikhari Vach; the light of the Logos is the madhyama form; and the Logos itself the pasyanti form; while Parabrahmam is the para (beyond the noumenon of all Noumena) aspect of that Vach." .........The Secret Doctrine, i 432

Pythagoras esteemed the Deity (the Logos) to be the centre of unity and "Source of Harmony."

"In the Vedantic traditions sound is considered one of the most important principles of existence, as it is both the source of matter and the key to become free from it. One who can thoroughly understand the four stages of sound as explained in the Vedic texts can utilize this science to become free from the bondage of matter."+

This is also reflected in the Gospel of John, in chapter 1 at the very beginning where it says; " In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of men."...............John 1:1-4

It is in Vedic tradition that we have a process of emanation of this primordial sound laid out for better understanding within the limits of language. The four broad stages of emanation of sound (shabda) from the Para to the Vaikhari is subject to clear elucidation in the Srimad Bhagavatam (3.26.33) where in it is stated that "Persons who are learned and who have true knowledge define sound as that which conveys the idea of an object, indicates the presence of a speaker and constitutes the subtle form of ether."
Just as a sankalpa - a pure thought - has to transcend through many stages before it actually manifests as concrete creative force, the implicit and explicit perception of sound also has to pass through several stages before it is fully experienced by the self in perfection. These stages are termed as para, pashyanti, madhyama and vaikhari. +

Each level of sound corresponds to a level of existence, and one's experience of sound depends upon the refinement of one's consciousness. This hierarchy of consciousness is defined in the verse quoted from the Sacred Doctrine.

Modern cosmology and particle physics points the theoretical and mathematical premises where in we find that what satisfies the most implicit level of reality is field of vibration. This vibration from its subtlest form to the grossest form constitutes forces of nature and the material manifestations of the universe we observe.

These four levels of sound correspond to four states of consciousness. Para represents the transcendental consciousness. Pashyanti represents the intellectual consciousness. Madhyama represents the mental consciousness. And Vaikhari represents the physical consciousness. These states of consciousness correspond with the four states known technically as jagrat, svapna, susupti, and turiya - or the wakeful state, the dreaming state, the dreamless state, and the transcendental state. +

Love to you all.

+ Acknowledgement for Vedic resource: Jahnava Nitai Das, "Tattva Prakasha" Volume 1, Issue 7

No comments :

Post a Comment