Monday, July 22, 2013

Hierarchy of Being

"...those who 'ascend and descend' are the 'Hosts' of what we loosely call 'celestial Beings.' But they are, in fact, nothing of the kind. They are Entities of the higher worlds in the hierarchy of Being, so immeasurably high that, to us, they must appear as Gods, and collectively – GOD.... there may be a certain limited communication between some of those worlds and our own. To the highest, we are taught, belong the seven orders of the purely divine Spirits; to the six lower ones belong hierarchies that can occasionally he seen and heard by men, and who do communicate with their progeny of the Earth; which progeny is indissolubly linked with them, each principle in man having its direct source in the nature of those great Beings, who furnish us with the respective invisible elements in us."  ........................The Secret Doctrine, i 132-133

The deep wisdom of Madam Blavatsky is apparent in the verse above taken from the Secret Doctrine.
This deeper understanding of the transcendence of mankind into higher realms of consciousness was also pointed out in the Genesis story of Jacob and his dream.

"He had a dream in which he saw a stairway resting on the earth, with its top reaching to heaven, and the angels of God were ascending and descending on it. There above it stood the LORD, and he said: "I am the LORD, the God of your father Abraham and the God of Isaac. I will give you and your descendants the land on which you are lying." .........Genesis 28:12-13

Mankind is promised this kingdom of created consciousness which is identified in the Kabbalah as Malchut, the kingdom of matter. But above this level is the levels of ascendance and descendence of higher beings endowed with higher level of consciousness. The symbolism of angels with wings denotes specifically this meaning. The name Israel means 'one who wrestles with God'. This is the struggle to reach the higher levels of consciousness. The 'Tree of Life' in Kabbalah has seven levels above the level of Malchut. This is reflected in the passage above as seven orders of purely Divine spirits.

Man is given the kingdom of matter for the sole purpose of ascendance of the spirit. But unfortunately, we use this gift for gratification of our flesh which subject to dissolution.

There is constant communication between these levels but one needs to be spiritually tuned to tap into these channels. This is an intuitive process in our higher awakened state of being. The six levels that Blavatsky points out are below the level of Keter, the crown, which is as in Kabbalah the functional structure of the sephirot (vessels) in channeling Divine creative life force, and revealing the unknowable Divine essence to Creation.

The seven levels or dimensions of creative Divine essence can also be seen in Vedic philosophy, as detailed in Bhagavata Purana. The concept of a multiverse can also be seen here:

"Every universe is covered by seven layers — earth, water, fire, air, sky, the total energy and false ego — each ten times greater than the previous one. There are innumerable universes besides this one, and although they are unlimitedly large, they move about like atoms in You. Therefore You are called unlimited." ..............Bhagavata Purana 6.16.37

This verse has very deep wisdom in explaining how the infinitude of the multiverse is contained within the Self and this attribute qualifies every human being to be vessel of the infinite Divine essence.

The hierarchy is intended, as a symbolic representation, to provide a path of true liberation of continued ascendance, similar to a stairway, and should not be understood in terms of a physical or spatial reality. The hierarchy is an anthropomorphic qualification of the levels of consciousness which is already available within oneself but which has to be evoked in this path of ultimate unification with the Godhead.

Love to you all

No comments :

Post a Comment