Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Pleiades - the Seven Sisters

There has been an interesting discussion going on among my Facebook friends on the Star cluster Pleiades which in classical mythology is called the seven sisters. I had contributed a bit to the discussion and thought that it would be good to share this thought with my blog group.

In the voluminous work compiled by
Gerald Massey titled ‘Natural Genesis’ the author refers to the Pleiades as follows:
“The Pleiades never were the 'seven stars' out of Greece. The Pleiades are six only, as the mothers, or sucklers of Kârtikéya in India”.

The first elaborate account of Karthikeya's origin occurs in the Mahabharata. In a complicated story, he is said to have been born from Agni and Shiva, after the latter impersonated the six of the seven wives of the Saptarishi (Seven Sages). The actual wives then become the Pleiades.

An explanation is needed here regarding the numbers. Shiva taking the feminine aspect and limiting to only six wives of the Saptarishi symbolizes that Kârtikéya in human incarnation of the cosmic Agni/Shiva principle needs only six chakras to be nourished as the seventh is in the cosmic realm and is devoid of differentiation. This is the reason that the seventh wife always remains in the divine plane even for an incarnation. The myth also says that the original wives of the Saptarishi became the Pleiades or cosmic entities meaning that all chakra energies in human incarnation are reflected entities subject to modification through the physical, mental and intellectual attributes that accompany creation. This is the reason that Kârtikéya, as human incarnation, is nourished by an imitative or modified embodiment of primal energy.

Now if we look at every human incarnation there is a subtlety in proposing energy centre manifestation as those that are resident in the gross body are six but human manifestation is not complete without the Sahasrara (crown) charka, which is in the cosmic realm, hence totalling seven.

The seven symbolism as related to the energy centres or chakras in the human body is direct reference in Bhagavad Purana.
For instance, there are said to be Seven Worlds (saptha lokas), the Seven Sages, the Seven Seas, the Seven Sacred Mountains, the Seven Swaras (of music), the Seven Colours of the Sun's ray and so on. If these are worshipped as symbols of the Divine, awareness of the Divine arises.
The seven cows or Saptarishi are the reference to totality of energy centres in human creation. In Vedic Sanskrit cow is referred as 'Gau'. 'Gau' is the unit of cosmic energy in the seven lokas of the Cosmos as per Bhagavad Purana.
If we look at the star map and the position of Orion, Taurus and Pleiades you can see that when Orion conquers Taurus he attains Pleiades, the seven sisters. In Vedic parlance when human creation or divine man (Orion) subdues the Rajasic (passionate) nature symbolized by the (Taurus) Bull, he attained the sattvic guna (attribute) of Divine Wisdom. This wisdom is resident in his own being as the Kundalini rising through the seven chakras, symbolized through Pleiades.

Please read, reflect and share.

Love to you all


  1. This is a very interesting article about Kartikeya and his six nurses being related to chakras in the human body. Actually I have a similar view with a minor difference - you may be interested in reading at my site at . Thanks.

  2. Thank you, Dave.
    I did visit and read about what you have written on Karhtikeya. The beauty of any myth is its capacity to touch ceratin aspects of the individual psyche and hence I always refrain from reinterpreting meanings an individual may derive.

    Love & Blessings!